WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Pan bagnat

... for lunch. When Eric said we were going to make hamburger buns, it didn't sound too tempting, but they turned out really well, and were an excellent basis for this traditional Provençal snack -- basically salade niçoise in a bap. We also tried some of the chocolate bread we made yesterday -- surprisingly nice, not sweet and with a lovely chewy texture. And some of our pavé with cheese. In case that wasn't enough, we'd also made a delicious chocolate tart.

Before that though, we whirled around bowls of poolish, starter and levain rafraîchi, along with a host of different flours. Some of the doughs were very sticky (more potter action!). The products of these won't be seen till tomorrow, but I am completely confident that they will be delicious. There's an album of our breadmaking adventures here.

After lunch, a little rest for an hour, then I went out to meet PaulaJ and Gordon on their way back from Nîmes to Bonnieux. We last met at the famous Staithes blipmeet in June 2015, and it was lovely to catch up with them at a cafe in the Place aux Herbes. I think this must be one of the most beautiful squares in France -- it was looking glorious in the autumn sunshine.

The cafe, Terroirs, is unusual for France -- it serves food all day. To my great surprise a bunch of French people turned up for lunch at 3:30 pm. C'est pas normal ! There was much badinage, and the food looked good, so this evening I popped back there for a glass of wine and a tartine. Given the location in the most touristy part of touristy Uzès, it was excellent and not expensive, with friendly staff. Highly recommended! As it grew dark, it turned out that the trees in the square are all festooned with fairy lights and they all came on, making the place look even more magical. I like Uzès. It also has lots of lovely shops ... shopping is not my thing at all, but I went on a shopping spree this afternoon :) 

Extra: my hosts' rather disgruntled cat. I've barely seen them since I arrived, and he was not happy that his food bowls were all empty and not a slave in sight. He was pleased to see me, and I did find him some food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.