If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Crocus speciosus

While out putting nuts in the squirrel feeder I looked down at my feet and got a surprise.  There at my feet was a little clump of flowers.  Clearly Croci.  I am very familiar with "Autumn Crocus" which isn't actually a crocus rather as Colchicum but not croci in autumn.

I assume we must have planted them at some point, not necessarily as owing to the occasional flooding of the garden all sorts of oddities appear.

I have it on good authority (TonyG Crocus man) via Clickychick's blip that these are Crocus speciosus.  Having the need to know more about them I have learned the flowering is triggered by the lower temperatures and wetter weather at this time of the year.  It would appear their common name is Bieberstein's Crocus (according to google).   Common?   I have never seen or heard the words before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.