NellieD

By NellieD

What makes something original?

Two more days left! I had to get out of the office today to stretch my legs. I've been squatting down emptying so many cupboards, my knees have gone - and my thighs ... and my back!

I called in at the Royal Northern College of Manchester to see what Blips were on offer and I spotted these stairs. 'What makes something original?' and 'does originality actually exist or do we all simply build from what we have seen and heard?' poses a very interesting question.

It's obviously not just limited to music as I have often thought the same thing about books. Can you write something completely original without being influenced by everything that has gone before you? 

The bronze statue on the right is of Chopin and was to commemorate the 125th anniversary of his concert in Manchester. The recital took place in August 1848, the year before his death. He is depicted walking, holding the collar of his long cloak with his left hand. It must have been cold in Manchester!

Quote for today:
Always be a first rate version of yourself instead of a second rate version of somebody else.
- Judy Garland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.