The Rain, Tudek Park, and Other Things

It has been raining again. This isn't news to the locals. We're getting used to it, I think. But it can make it hard to get outside and do things. I carry my umbrella all the time. Even on days when rain isn't forecast, sometimes it rains.

On this day, it rained all morning. I had a lunch date with a dear friend, and as we wrapped things up, I noticed the rain was tapering off. Since I was near there already, I sped over to Tudek Park for a very QUICK look around the community gardens.

I was hoping to see happy, golden sunflowers, I think. But apparently, the days of the sunflowers are mostly done. The ones I saw were blackened, bowed down. It wasn't what I'd hoped for.

But there are always things to see to one who is willing to look. And so I strolled around with my umbrella, as the sun tried to shine after the rain. I wished for a rainbow but didn't get one. The ground was absolutely saturated; the water squished at every step.

Above you may see a photo of one of my favorite local trees, the big white oak that graces these grounds, along with the scenic barn behind it, which actually holds HORSES.

Yes, it was complete with signs warning of "equine activities" all over the place. Be warned: though you don't see them in this shot, off to the right, HERE THERE BE HORSES. (As if they were dragons, or something.)

And so it was that I strolled around, sort of day-dreaming in the mist: about the rain, and Tudek Park, and other things. Here's the soundtrack song: the Cowsills, with The Rain, The Park, and Other Things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.