FLOWER FRIDAY

I was intending to pick one of our passion flowers, use the tripod and get what I hoped would be some good macro shots, but changed my mind!

After my busy day yesterday, I did have a lie in this morning, and when I drew back the curtains, could see that Mr. HCB had obviously been out digging in the garden for sometime.  He is a grafter!

I went out to see him and to say a few encouraging words - then asked when he would be harvesting some of his sweetcorn and he said that we could take off a cob now and see what it looked like.  Although one of them looked quite large, by the time we had pulled the leaves back, it was quite small and it was obvious that it wasn’t yet ripe.

He picked another one and this looked much better, so I carefully pulled the outer leaves back, revealing a lovely yellow cob - our FIRST corn on the cob.

So this is my offering for Flower Friday - and if you think you can’t see a flower, look again.  I found this out:

“Corn is a monoecious plant, meaning that it grows its male and female flowers on the same plant. The male flower of a corn plant is called the tassel, while the ear with its corn silk is the female flower.”

The tassel is still on the top of the plant whereas the “silky” parts you can see in my photograph, are the female flowers so this does qualify for Flower Friday.

I’m sure we will enjoy this later although I’m not quite sure if I will boil or grill it - but I will let you know what it tastes like.  This is the first time Mr. HCB has grown corn, and he says he doesn’t think he will grow it again, but it was fun to watch it growing and hopefully it will taste good.

“What did the baby corn say to the Mama corn?”
“Where’s Pop corn.”

You throw away the outside, cook the inside, 
then eat the outside, and throw away the inside, what am I? 
Corn on the cob. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.