Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Autumn begins in Allen Banks

I decided that I needed to kick the cold into touch today. It was a beautiful, crisp, sunny day. I went to do part of the route for tomorrow's Tree Walk in Allen Banks.

For those of you who do not know, this is a National Trust property in Northumberland. There is a natural gorge around the River Allen, but part was planted and managed by a Victorian visionary, Susan Davidson, as a wilderness garden.

There are several paths to follow and some take you off the main drag and further into the woods. My image for today was taken on one of these.

My aim to clear my sinuses with fresh air has not worked, so I'll be inhaling steam with Olbas Oil before bed tonight. 

Tomorrow's walk will be terrific with an expert arborist to increase our understanding.

By chance* I saw a notice to say that some of the paths have been closed while work is done to remove yet more of the rhododendrons that the Victorians planted. This does not affect our walk but will affect a walk later in the week. If only we were psychic when we arrange the routes!

My extra shows the wonderful light coming through common or garden bracken. 

*I went to the toilet and the notice was facing me on the door!! (It is also on the website.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.