Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Edinburgh castles and seat summits

We had a slow start this morning which was just as well after the long drive to Edinburgh from Scrabster yesterday.  It was a day of castles.  The first was Tantallon and the second was Dirleton.  Both were grand ruins but Dirleton had a most beautiful, if nearly past it's best, walled garden which I really enjoyed.  I even managed to see two squirrels but they weren't the staying and chatting kind.  As P said, not like Fineen.

I was fascinated by Bass Rock off Tantallon Castle.  I have put it up as an extra.

It has a large gannet colony on it and they were buzzing over the top like midges.  You can see the 20th century lighthouse there and the remains of a chapel and castle.  Historically it was said to be inhabited by a hermit.  I wonder how he made it there.  Perhaps it was a miracle.

After we got back it was time to keep the FB happy so a climb of Arthurs seat was in order.  I made it to the top but crikey it was blowing a hoolie and a lot of my photos are blurry.  I should have upped the ISO.  Hey ho.  This one taken a bit lower down was relatively sharp so here you have Edinburgh castle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.