Forgotten...

...or maybe not---I don't really know. I spotted this on the way to my uncles' funeral today, and it's just sitting there all by itself, so overgrown that I almost missed it from the road. For some reason it reminds me of Rapunzel's tower! 
It was a really beautiful service. My uncle was an avid fisherman (as were my dad and their younger brother), & my cousins had laid out memorial cards that had pictures of the Lake on the front of them (the lake that my grandparents' cottage was on, & where we all spent parts of our summers growing up) & "The Fisherman's Prayer" on the back. He'd been cremated, and his urn was a huge bobber, which made us all laugh! So appropriate! They had a luncheon after the service that featured my uncles' favorite food (fish), favorite drink (Pabst Blue Ribbon Beer), & his  favorite desert (lemon meringue pie). I got to see so many of my cousins & their children (most of the children I didn't even recognize, as it's been so long since I've seen any of them). We all talked about how sad it is that the only time we all get together anymore is at funerals--we really need to try harder to see each other more often.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.