The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

St Nicholas' church, Ozleworth

(Apologies for the blown-out sky. Shooting into the light...)

Steve's sister visited today, and we started by having brunch at a local cafe-bar which I have visited far too often, of late! Then we drove to Newark Park NT, near Wotton-under-Edge. Sadly, the house had been damaged by a major water leak in March of this year, and only three rooms were open to the public. This was a big blow to me, as I had been looking forward to seeing the collection of porcelain swans again....

However, the day was saved by a further visit to nearby Ozleworth Park estate, and its little church, which I wrote about here, five years ago. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3472577

It's all still as lovely as ever, rendered lovelier by the fact that Steve's sister had done her research and realised that the house had been handed over to the NT in 1949 by the Clutterbuck family. Steve and his sister have Clutterbuck heritage! Many of the church's fine stained-glass windows pay homage to previous Clutterbuck rectors, mostly called Lewis. 

It's only a short stroll along the bridlepath to the church and back, but by the time we got back home we were cold, and enjoyed a cup of tea and some curious gluten-free bread I'd made earlier. No matter what I do, it is always too doughy. But then a few months pass, I forget the last disaster, and start all over again, heart full of optimism, bowl  full of seeds, five different flours, psyllium husk, etc.  (The shop varieties of g-f bread tend to bring me out in rashes if I eat much of them, because of a preservative used in most of them. Plus, they are expensive. Schar is an exception).

And now it's Sunday night, I am planning a trip to Leicester (for a meeting) and wondering once again where the whole of the three days of the long weekend has gone. Into the washing machine, perhaps, with my several loads of laundry, or into the ether with my latest card order which took forever to place. I guess it takes me three whole days to recover from the four days at work. Roll on, half term and the vastly altered workscape thereafter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.