Nostalgia

Still knackered today, so we decided to have a driving around kind of a day, rather than going walking.  Started out fairly slowly, then drove to Tesco to stock up properly for the rest of the week.  Almost, but not quite, escaped the rain as we were getting back into the car - got a bit damp.

Came back to the apartment, put the shopping away and had some lunch, then set back out in the car.  Drove to Woolacombe via Lee Bay, and had a good clamber round the rocks on Barricane beach.  Quite a bracing day compared to yesterday!

Carried on to Croyde, where I spent all my childhood holidays.  I hadn't been back here in decades and it was weirdly emotional to see the beach again.  Parked up, turned around, and realised we were right near the massive house my family (along with a couple of other families we were good friends with) used to stay in - the one on the right here.  I realised after that the first view I'd had of the beach was from basically the same angle as from the house, which I think is why it provoked such a strong response.  So many happy memories!

We had a good walk across the beach, which was strangely so much bigger than I remembered - and even more beautiful.  Before we went back to the car, I had a quick walk up closer to the house and snapped a couple more photos.  Sent a few over to my brother and sister and my Mum later - and also gave my Mum a call once we were back in Ilfracombe.  She's still got a crappy cold, and a water infection now too, poor thing :(  She sounded OK though, and we had a nice chat.

Cooked and ate dinner, then watched another Bodyguard while Tim watched the F1.  Popped out after to post my Mum's birthday card - quite wild and windy out there.  Had a quick look at the sea and tried out the 'clapping circle' by Wildersmouth beach.  When you stand in the centre and clap, the sound really is returned to you as a squeak!  Odd!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.