Neidpath Viaduct

Another early start, not quite as early as yesterday, but our tour od the borders resumed.  BB and I were off to Peebles for football.  We left a very sunny day, drove into some very grey and wet weather and then emerged in a sunny Peebles.  I dropped BB at the venue and went for a walk up the river past Neidpath Castle, across Neidpath viaduct and back down the other side.  The sun disappeared for most of my walk, but by the time I got back to Peebles it had reappeared.  I watched the second half of the game, and survived a rain shower.  I must have been quite sheltered on my walk, as it was freezing on the pitches.

BB’s team won and it was a good win.  BB and I then headed off to a café for lunch (he had it all planned as soon as he heard we were heading to Peebles!).  We had just sat down, when one of his friends appeared, so we all had lunch together.  We then went to the playpark by the river for a while.  The kids ran around and played by the river, before we parted company.  We paid a quick visit to the supermarket before heading home via Innerleithen .  The closer we got to East Lothian, the brighter it got.

Once home, I made a roast tomato risotto, with home grown tomatoes and BB did some cello practice.  Later we watched Strictly, and then TT appeared home with a bag of washing.

I think I need a couple of days off now, to make up for my busy weekend!

This sturdy looking bridge is the Neidpath Viaduct – unlike the railway it carried, it was built to last.  It had clouded over when I was there, but half an later there were lovely blue skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.