Best Place

Better than growing them in pots, as I have done for so long, if you can find the right place many of the less common bulbs will grow happily in the open garden.   This is Crocus goulimyi var leucanthus, pale or white flowered where the typical variety is light purple.  From the Peloponnese, it will have enjoyed our hot summer. 

An interesting diversion while Jamie had his violin lesson this morning.  In early summer, his teacher had looked out over the long grass in her garden and wished it was a flowery meadow.  Today, after raking out some of the moss and dead grass to create bare patches, I scattered seed from some of the plants I grow.  Not a wildflower meadow in the making but a place where flowers might grow wild.  The seed of Honesty, aquilegia, foxglove and others came from the most rumbustious of the plants I grow, the ones which must be kept in check or they will take over.  In this rough patch, it's owner a confirmed non-gardener, they might just survive and even prosper.  We'll see.

This afternoon I had a lovely drive out to Overstrand, on the North Norfolk coast where I gave a talk to the local garden club.  No time to go for a walk on the beach but I did take a look at the sea :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.