Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Swans and stags

I had a yearning to go to Bushy Park to see the deer, especially now during rutting season. The park is still closed at sunrise due to the annual cull, so I knew there was no point getting there really early - but I did want to get the best of the morning light, particularly as the forecast was for a dull and overcast day.

I planned to get there as it opened at 8am, but my usual 15 minute journey to the park took an hour - an hour of sitting in bumper to bumper morning traffic which was so annoying. I managed to get quite a few photos of stags and swans, as can be seen here, so my frustrating journey was worth it. The stags are magnificent as they roar at other males, and you truly feel at one with nature as you walk around amongst the bracken and can smell them before you see them as they can be so well hidden.

Back home for a late breakfast (only 15 minutes to get home again) and to a warm welcome from Murdoch, who was then taken for his walk. I would never take him to Bushy Park during rutting season, I am surprised how many people still do take their dogs there for a walk at this time.

As it turned out it was sunny all day and rather warm too. Another beautiful autumnal day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.