Humber and bridge with teasels

A funny old day; moments of rushing around followed by long periods of thumb twiddling.

Firstly, a rush to visit LH's aunt and uncle who recently downsized drastically to buy a shared property with their daughter and her husband. Basically, two couples downsizing together and rejigging absolutely everything. I'm not sure I could do it to the same extent as they have, but they've found a pleasant 'doer-upper' and now have quite a number of plans to keep them very busy for a while.

Next, lots of idle twiddling involving not finishing a crossword, finishing a codeword, doing the polygon puzzle and finally getting some sewing out. M-i-l has had a bit of a moany day as LH has been tired and retired to bed, so not conversing with his mother. A bit stressful being piggy in the middle tbh. So after a while I took myself off for a walk along the Humber with Poppydog as it wasn't quite raining at the time, and we got the usual view of the Humber Bridge. The country park was full of bird friendly planting so plenty of berries and seedheads and bird tweetings to prove they were around enjoying it.

I drove LH to his school mini reunion, marking 50 years since they started there. About 15 or so turned up, less than he'd anticipated, but he had a good time. All very exotic: a few pints and then an Indian meal washed down with more beer, judging by the aroma and his cheerfulness. As he said, nothing and no one had changed much, apart from a bloke now on his 4th wife, so I expect they reverted to being their youthful selves, even though they are mostly coming up to retirement.

I had a pleasant evening being beaten at cards. His family are keen on card games and I'm happy to be ridiculed and come last - it's my job, I feel. His mum, in particular, loathes losing, a trait that has unfortunately been inherited by my nearest and dearest, both of them.

More fun tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.