Downton Abbey Extras

The Downton Abbey filming continues at Lacock and again I was able to watch some of the action. Today filming was on the High Street, mostly at one end. Down at our end there were LOTS of extras milling around and I was amazed that those of us just watching the action were free to mingle amongst them. Once they were part of the shot, we were all shooed away behind barriers but were still able to watch the action. At one point the cavalry marched past. Apparently - these are all genuine current day Household Cavalry - not actors at all.

I did see ‘Lady Mary’ (Michelle Dockery) being filmed in one shot - but a long way in the distance. I heard from others that ‘Tom Branson’ (Allen Leech) was also seen today.

It was wonderful getting close to all the beautiful period costumes and to see such variety. It was a really warm day, however, so I felt bad for all of them in their heavy coats, standing around in the hot sun.

I can’t wait for the movie to come out now. I’ve heard it will be another year.

I finally had to pull myself away from the action. I had plans to visit my dear elderly friend, Queenie, who lives nearby. She was one of my mum’s best friends and I try to visit her several times a year. She’s featured in a few of my blips. See Extra photo. At 89 years old - she STILL doesn't have as much grey hair as I do!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.