Downton Abbey At Lacock

I’m visiting and camping in Lacock this week and yesterday I mentioned in my blip that something exciting was happening in the village. Lacock is often used as a filming location for period dramas and this week parts of the upcoming Downton Abbey movie are being filmed here.

Today they were filming in the large playing field. I saw some of the action, but mostly from the distance. I heard from others that the scene was the coronation of King George in 1937 (having now seen the movie in 2019, I know that was wrong!) - hence all the horses on the field and the bunting and Union Jacks all over the village. Tomorrow they will be filming on the High street and today they were still setting up props and transforming shop fronts and signage to reflect the era.

The shop at the bottom of the collage is the one and the same as Lacock Stores which I showed in yesterday’s blip. The ‘police station’ is really the Lacock Village primary school. The notice board with the flyer for the dance at the Downton village hall was yesterday still filled with notices for 2018.

The picture on the bottom right is a view of people trying to get a peek at the action through a temporary fence. There was a lot of buzz all through the village. It was fun to be a part of it.

Besides trying to see some of the action, I also spent a couple of hours touring around Lacock Abbey - which has itself been used as a filming location, probably most famously in a couple of the Harry Potter movies. See Extra photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.