lovelife209

By mindful_life

Serene Sunday

I was the first up in our house today, which is pretty normal! So when everyone else was up I was ready to get showered and on with the day. I asked if anyone wanted to go for a walk and my son immediately said yes, so he got himself ready and off we went. 

If you didn't know already he is a huge wildlife fan and very knowledgable and we stopped often on route when we saw interesting things. If anyone is unsure of how to be mindful in nature, see the world through that of a child.  Not far from home he pointed out the sound of a woodpecker which I would have missed had he not told me. We took some photographs of lots of things - some squirrels who were climbing (and falling) in the trees, a spider in the middle of a web, and the others in my collage.  We stopped at the willow tree for a while as he wanted to look for some hawk moth  caterpillars - a couple of years ago he had a hawk moth over night in his butterfly house that happened to lay eggs. They hatched into caterpillars and we had to feed them fresh willow leaves every day so this actual tree was visited a lot! 

Come the afternoon I baked some biscuits with my son - chocolate chip and some vanilla biscuits with orange icing and sprinkles (see extra). They aren't the prettiest but they taste good!! I don't bake biscuits very often, I usually make cakes but I thought I would do these for a change! I also have a friend and her son over tomorrow evening so thought it might be nice to have some homemade!

I did some Yoga and some Meditation practice and also looked up some questions for my book club to consider whilst reading our current book, A Gentleman in Moscow

This evening I am cooking up a storm again - this week Indian. A Prawn and lentil Dhansak, a Chicken Korma and a some marinated curried chicken. This is becoming quote a tradition for a Sunday afternoon! 

I hope you have all had a lovely Sunday!

"I think it is important to find the little things in everyday life that make you happy." Paula Cole

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.