The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Back from the North Face

Mari and her mother Kim are staying with us. Last blipped in 2012 (22-23 September), Mari is now eight years old. I looked after her in London when she was a baby, as one of her nannies for eight months.

I hadn't seen her since she was two, because they live in Germany, but had suggested to Mum that, as part of my brief childminding duties, I might take her climbing. Both of them were up for that, so on Thursday Mari came with LA and her son, and me. (Kim was on a two-day course).

This activity was such a success for Mari, who took to it instantly, that she begged to go back today. Great choice, as it was pouring with rain!
Steve picked me up from my Saturday morning shift at Stonehouse, and we all went to Gloucester, like Doctor Foster, in a shower of rain.

Once there, Mari climbed, while I belayed, and Kim took photos. After a while, I happened to mention that there was an artificial cave, and Kim disappeared. She came back with a leaflet about caving, and we decided to try it. We got a slot with a guide, so after a pitstop we got kitted out in elbow-and-knee pads and helmets, and set off through the tiny entrance. Inside the cave one had to do a lot of slithering, never mind crawling, and sometimes go down a dark passage headfirst. At one point Kim got herself positioned the wrong way round, and in turning, she accidentally sat on my head!  Team building, anyone?

I haven't done anything quite so weird in a long time. I'd definitely go back with another child, or an adult who was up for it. Ideally a small person.

We shuffled out into daylight, about an hour later,  refreshed ourselves with more tea, and hit the streets and shops of Gloucester, returning  to Stroud by bus along the ridge and into the setting sun.

Just now, I thought about the person who first introduced me to trekking in the High Tatras and to climbing in the Czech Republic. His name was Vaclav and he was in my English class at the State Language School in Zlin, in 1992-93. His son and his friend once came to stay with me here in Stroud. I decided to look him up on Facebook, but couldn't find him. Google was my next choice, but via Google Translate, I found this  sad report below:

So long, Vaclav! I will look out some old prints and dedicate a 'proper' blip to you. Those who share, and coach, are an inspiration to us all. 

Saturday 25.6. In 2016, a tragic event happened in the afternoon, during which our longtime chairman and friend Václav Tichavský died. Unhappiness happened at the Držkovské Rocks. There was probably an error in self-security and subsequent fall when preparing for salting. How hot, fatigue, or routine is the big role we will never know. There was a serious head injury during the fall, and despite the rapid helicopter transport to the hospital, it was no longer helpful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.