The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Colours

I attended an event at the Cheltenham literary festival, a panel discussion between Heather Melville and the joint authors of Slay in your lane: the black woman's Bible. The event was entitled Black faces, white spaces, after one of the chapters. Apparently the BBC tried to use this trademarked phrase recently without crediting it.https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/may/29/the-bbc-ripped-off-my-slay-in-your-lane-slogan-now-im-being-attacked

An important conversation. I wish now I'd bought the book. I'm watching the pennies, as ever. Aware that my house is full of books.

Good to be back at the lit fest, which seems much more people-friendly, less stuffy and intellectual than it used to be. I hadn't been there for years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.