Ups and Downs

I’ve been blipping for almost seven years now.  I started with a crocus and they still feature often when in season.  The collection has been reduced of late as I deal with a build up of virus disease.  Collect a lot of similar plants and you also collect their collected problems!  Good hygiene, vigilance and effective pest control – in this case dealing with aphids – will beat the problem but I must also remove any suspect plants.
 
It’s not all doom and gloom though, as this Crocus vallicola illustrates.  A seedling, seed sown in September 2015, there are many more to come as I sow many pots of seed each year.  This is quick work, four years wait is more typical.
 
After a day of much needed rain yesterday, we’re back to sunshine again today.  Great for the garden, great for the gardener and great for the pollinators so hopefully plenty of crocus seed will be set for future generations of flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.