Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Little Miss Victorian

Miss L went to St John's House Museum in Warwick today. She's been very excited - loves a school trip!!
They needed to dress up as Victorians for the day and Miss L has been asking if I've ordered her costume for weeks. Yes I must do that I kept replying.
And kept looking at the chosen outfit on Amazon.
On Sunday night I finally checked out the Amazon order. Delivery would be Tuesday it said. 
That's OK, I thought, for the trip on Thursday.
Only the trip is on Tuesday so obviously I've left it too late.
Story of my life.
Arse, arse, arse!!!!!!!
I hate letting the Little Misses down and I spent all Sunday night trying to think of a solution and desperately hunting through  local dressing up shops' websites and eBay and local Facebook groups to see could I find anything. 
And trying not to cry for being such a useless failure.
We found a shop in Oxford that hopefully would have something suitable in stock so Mr K planned to go and see at lunchtime yesterday.
In the meantime I had a brainwave - in the early hours of Monday morning when I was too upset to sleep, and I dug through the wardrobe in the spare room and found the dress Miss E a few years ago when she was Mary Lennox for World Book Day. It's actually the dress that I ordered for Miss L on Sunday but age 8-10 rather than 6-8.
Thankfully it fit her and she loves it so disaster averted.
When, when, when will I stop putting things off. For no reason. The dress was in the Amazon basket and all I had to do was check out. What's wrong with me?
Anyway, she went off this morning looking fabulous and had an amazing time at the museum apparently.
I had a lesson first thing and then went to Mrs L's for lots of cups of tea and  lunch. As I drive down the lane to their house I started a visual migraine which I haven't had for ages so spent the first hour not really able to see Mrs L but valiantly trying to ignore the jaggedy flashing obscuring my vision. Hideous!!
It wore off eventually and we had a lovely few hours chatting.
I was cross when I got home to find the cleaner hadn't been. No message, no explanation. First world problems!!
It was mostly annoying as it meant Archie had been on his own for hours. He loves the cleaner!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.