Strawhouse

By strawhouse

War Horse

After we went to see Matilda a couple of months ago I booked tickets for me and Miss E to go and see War Horse. She hadn't read it but I thought there was enough time to read it and prepare herself a bit for what, by all accounts, is a pretty harrowing play.
Obviously me being me I didn't even mention it to her until the day before yesterday and she was understandably a bit reluctant. She said she's never wanted to read the book as she knew it would upset her and was worried that the play would be too much. 
It was very sweet that she kept saying how much she'd like to go to the theatre with me but just not to this.
Fair enough.
So I asked my mum if she'd like to come. This morning! Nothing like giving her lots of notice!!
It all got a bit complicated because Mr K couldn't get home early enough for us to leave in time -stupid stressful deadlines - so my dad had to come and sit with the Little Misses until he got home. 
At one point I'd said to my mum that it was too complicated and why didn't she just go with my dad. But it worked out in the end. And I'm so glad it did.
What an incredible production. The staging, the sound, the lighting, the effects, the wonderful wonderful puppets and puppeteers. 
The horror of the First World War captured on a stage. It was unbearable.
I'm pleased that Miss E didn't come - it would have been too much for her. It was almost too much for me.
Hopefully there'll be a re-run in a few years when she's a bit older. It should be compulsory viewing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.