Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red Admiral

A butterfly that is familiar to many people around the world, it can be found in temperate regions of North Africa, North and Central America, Europe, Asia, and island regions of Hawaii, and the Caribbean.  In our area, there are two broods each year, this being the second.  This is a particularly fresh looking butterfly with no visible signs of wear - nice to see!  

Hubs and I had a great visit with friends down at the NJ shore.  It was a very laid-back visit and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner last night and an equally wonderful breakfast this morning with no cooking on the part of any of us.  We sat and talked late into the evening with our host and I enjoying a lovely single malt scotch to cap of the night.  A good getaway for Hubs and I.  

Temps when we got home were approaching 80F which is pretty warm for this time of year.  The garden was abuzz with all sorts of pollinators which kept me busy.  Much to my surprise, when I checked my butterfly enclosure late this afternoon, I saw that #220 has emerged.  Wasn't expecting him for a few more days.  He is comfortably sitting in his container inside and I'll set him on his way tomorrow.  There were three monarchs in the garden late this afternoon, so I expect #220 will join them for the flight south.  And then there were three...

Also got a nice shot of a young Mourning Dove who let me approach way too close!  Click HERE to view

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.