Mary and I went to the Roaches today and I decided to climb a route called Yong (HVD). It was a bit awkward but I put plenty of gear in, was moving up ok and got to a couple of metres higher than in the photo.  But then I was in trouble... couldn't find the right gear, was having trouble keeping my left foot in the crack... and then my right foot sort of skated off the rock.  My first leader fall! Because it was a slab I slid, not fell, about a metre to the last bit of gear, and then another couple of metres... but the cams held and Mary saved me.

It was such a shock. I mean I knew I was going to come off a split second earlier, but not having had it happen before it was a surprise. Then I just hung there for a few seconds while I assessed how I felt. Puntured elbow and grazed knees and shins.  The pain in my foot only became apparent later.

Mary looked after me really well. We both went round up to the top of the route and she set up the belay so she could ab down for the gear. Meanwhile she made me sit on a block and clipped me in for safety... in case I became even more wobbly. She's a great partner!

No more climbing after that, we went for tea and cake :-)

PS Here are my legs on Mary's blip!

Extra - climb the arete on steppy holds up to the roof!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.