Tiny Tuesday. : : Water Drops on Kale

The day dawned hot and dry again with low humidity.  Fortunately the gusty winds had died down. The garden is about to be dug in for the winter except for the kale which never seems to stop...or even slow down. The irrigation must have gone on just before I returned with the dogs from their walk. I was struck by just how water repellant kale leaves are....

We have all made it through the anniversary date of the fires with only minor amounts of PTSD, mainly from the endless stream of stories in the local newspaper, the Press Democrat. The paper got a Pulitzer Prize last year for their coverage of the fires. At the time it was information about our neighborhoods that many of us couldn't get any other way since we were evacuated from our homes and the police and National Guard manned roadblocks lest we should be tempted to sneak in. This year it is mostly peoples' stories and how they and their devastated neighborhoods are faring one year later. Everybody has a story and  knows other people with countless more.

I think it would be better not to live through it all again in the newspaper....

Fran and I went to our fake news class (it's actually called something like: Fake News, Real News and How to Tell the difference) today even though something has clicked off in my brain and I am finding myself unable to care. I think the final straw was reading a NewYork Times article that said Kavanaugh saved his nomination with his elitist, spoiled frat boy hissy fit. Even this didn't help much. It was just too close to the truth. Hearing about how polls measure voter sentiment was just not what I felt like doing today. 

What was good was the Caprese sandwiches which I made, and the fabulous little three ingredient cookies which Fran brought. We sat at a picnic table in the sun right outside the lecture room and ate them. One more recipe I must get from Fran...

Many thanks to Walking Wombat for coming back to host the Tiny Tuesday challenge which she began several years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.