SpaceX Launch

We had some neighbors round for drinks the other evening, and as they were leaving, we were all entertained by this rather spectacular sight. It is so 21st century that while I was taking a picture with my phone, one of the guests was reading the explanation of what we were looking at from his phone.  

DEFINITELY NOT ALIENS
On Sunday night (Oct 7) a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched the SAOCOM 1A Earth-observation satellite from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California's Central Coast. And the two-stage  booster's first stage landed back at Vandenberg less than 8 minutes after liftoff, pulling off SpaceX's first- ever terra firma touchdown on California soil.*


Clearly then, this picture was not taken today, but I forgot I had taken it until I looked at my phone today.

In contrast to the celestial drama, today was spent washing Blake, washing, the bathroom and the living room and all the bedding on our bed after Blake escaped from his bath and started rolling on our bed. He ate there better part of a bucket full of rotten tomatoes  and suffered the consequences during the night. 
 
I thought it would be better to cheat a little rather than share a picture of piles of laundry....

*Mike Wall, Space.com Senior writer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.