Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Ivy Shredding

A day of cutting ivy out of the field hedge and shredding it with my new shredder (see yesterday's Blip). But first an apology; in my Blip I said it can cope with branches up to 45cms. Of course, as Loose Canon pointed out, that should have been 45mms and in fact, it was only 40 anyway. Now, I'm sure we won't fall out over 5mms but claiming something is over 4cms bigger than it actually is? Not cricket. I blame these new-fangled decimal sizes; what was wrong with feet and inches? Pounds and ounces? Pounds, shillings and pence?

Anyway (and not for the first time), I digress. The shredder was superb at the job, and over the day I completely filled the green bin and two sacks having removed considerably more ivy than would normally fill the bin. In the process I uncovered a tree that had been almost completely covered and have opened up the view from the house very slightly, although there is still a lot to do. I suspect this could become my life's work.

And as ivy has featured so much in my day, here is an ivy flower bud waiting to come into bloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.