Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1447. #inktober 2018....Cruel....

Today’s #inktober theme had me stumped....I am enjoying the challenge of these themes as they’ve really made me think carefully about how to depict them....as we approach 100 years since the armistice and as we are about to embark on another battlefield tour very soon...it got me thinking about the absolute futility and cruelty of war. Our flight bookings for our Russian battlefield tour came through yesterday and as we were looking through the paperwork and booking our connecting flights for next year I came across this photograph from what was known as Stalingrad but now called Volgograd....I don’t know whether these are Russian or German soldiers but I thought this stark image perfectly depicted the cruelty of war.... We are heading to Germany soon to start this year’s battlefield tour which sees us travel to Munich, Nuremberg and Berlin and looks set to be an interesting and thought provoking fortnight. I have to say that military history is not one of my major interests but my husband is very passionate about it so we do one of these tours every year...the photo opportunities are endless so I often wander off from the group looking for unusual photos and the places we visit never fail to provide these.
I’m feeling a bit better today having had a bit of a setback yesterday afternoon, I was coughing again and feeling dreadful but after having a reasonable night’s sleep I do feel more human this morning....what a terrible cold virus this has been...now into my ninth week of it...I now realise I should have headed to my GP about 4 weeks ago but I never feel right bothering very busy doctors with what seems to have been a virulent cold...but then I’m older and shaking these things off definitely gets tougher!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.