Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Wounded Waratah

It’s a sad tale to tell about the Waratah bush outside our living room. Earlier this year in April I counted a total of 9 buds on the bush and it was absolutely thriving. I could tell we were in for a glorious show in Spring. Sadly with the drought conditions seven of the stems have been absolutely decimated by the little wallabies. They are so hungry. I can honestly say that in the 19 years I have been living out here I have never known them to eat the Waratahs. I’m sad of course but then again we are living on their patch. This is one of the two buds that is about to pop its cork. I have been covering them with a light white netting at night and I’m just hoping that they survive.

Tiny Tuesday 176
I’m not far off finalising the list of hearts an honorouble mentions for this week but it’s been the toughest week yet, like EVER!! The water drop theme proved to be very popular and there were so many outstanding entries. I’m glad I live so far away from most of you - I probably don’t have to worry about disappointed blippers knocking on my door to protest the findings:)).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.