NellieD

By NellieD

Where Are We Now?

I really didn't know which photo to use today so thought I'd put them all up.

It was my crochet/knit group meetup today and I saw the googly eyes in the tree as I headed to the group. It's always good to start the day with a smile.

The bottom right photo is a small indication of how awesome the people in my group are!! We were asked to take part in the Manchester Science Festival by knitting and crocheting bacteria and phage. Everyone excelled themselves and the guys from the University came to collect it all today - they were thrilled! There was a whole display of cholera, e. coli, black death, chlamydia, streptococcus and the phage which are going to save us all when anitbiotics no longer work!

I noticed the first sign 'A Case For Optimism' on the side of the National Football Museum. There was nothing else and as I walked round the corner, the other two messages were on the side of Selfridge's and were huge - but you really had to look up to see them! They all had similar symbols so I figured they must be related in some way. I contacted the Football Museum to see if they could point me in the right direction and they told me that they are all part of the Journeys Festival International.

The internet tells me it is:
a newly commissioned project by international artist Kate Daudy. High profile city centre sites have messages installed to raise awareness of man’s capacity to transcend circumstance and strive for a better future. The words and ideas were gathered from Manchester people, past and present, from all walks of life, including newly arrived refugees. The work explores the notion that our thoughts all weigh the same in the public forum.

Quote for today:
Life is an unanswered question but let's still believe in the dignity and importance of the question.
- Tennessee Williams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.