A wet day

We had really hoped the forecast was wrong for today’s weather, but it wasn’t. So after the Archers and Jon had walked Bracken we went to the allotment hoping to get a couple of hours of work done before it rained. I managed to pile up the rubbish to collect later with the trailer, plus another pile of broken panels to burn, all on the old plot. Meanwhile Jon dug one bed on the new plot. I moved a few bits over, but basically we worked through the rain until it was so heavy we just had to stop. Why couldn’t we have had yesterday’s weather?!! I also feel like I’m getting the cold that Jon had suffered with for the last week, and half my office seem to be suffering with too.

It meant the rest of our day would be at home. We sorted out a bit of camping gear - as minimalist as possible. Between us ( but mostly Jon) we pumped up the double air bed to see if it is puncture free. (Now leaning up in the conservatory behind my very wet coat). If it is still hard on Thursday I’ll deflate it and pack to take with us. All I’m planning to cook is bacon and a kettle, so a very small gas stove is all we will need. It doesn’t take long to take all the home comforts you get in a caravan for granted. We have 3 head torches but I need to locate mine! Camp blankets will also go in, and warm sleeping bags. I’m going to go in the middle I’ve decided! 3 enamel bowls and mugs, and 3 sets of camp cutlery, 3 chairs and the tent. I think that’s it. I will put milk, teabags and bacon and rolls together on Thursday.

I feel totally shattered. I’ve been ironing on and off all day, in order to stay awake. I am going to have a bath now, and after tea intend to get an early night. Not really looking forward to my work this week - I know how much there is to do in just 4 days. It is going to be challenging.

So bath now. Sorry about the photo...it has been very wet but we just had to get out in it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.