The Longest Day

My nephew picked me up at 5:30 a.m. to get me to Melbourne by 7:30.  United had moved their desk since my last visit, so I walked quite a distance to find it and check in.  Then began the long meander for another significant distance to get through security, the duty-free maze, and finally the long walk to the very farthest gate.  As luck would have it again, I had an entire row to myself on the 787 Dreamliner, so I had quite a comfortable and restful sleep during the 14 hour flight.  After, three meals and a glass of wine or two, many episodes of downloaded Netflix shows, and about 7 hours sleep, I arrived in LAX...about 4 hours earlier than I left Melbourne.  

I arrived in terminal 4, and had to claim my bag, clear customs, and recheck the bag then find my way to terminal 7 which was quite another long distance.  I checked myself into the United Lounge to make the 5-hour layover a little easier.  Finally at 11:30, I boarded my flight to D.C.  I tried not to sleep, so arrived in DC quite tired, 29 + hours after I left Australia.   There is also a long walk at Dulles Airport to get to the trains to go to the main terminal, so in that expanded day, I managed to fly 10,000 miles AND get get 10,000 steps.  I was very happy to see my husband and went to bed about 11 and slept like a baby.  Surely I will beat this Jet Lag without any problems. 

Backblipped 10/14/2018

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.