Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Kirkstone Pass

An unexpected day out today!

In the morning I popped over to the Mate's to check out some printing he is doing for me. Then in the afternoon I suddenly fancied a change of scene.I've worked quite a lot this week sat in front of a screen so I felt the need to be out in the fresh air.

These days we try avoid tourist attractions or garden centres at weekends but Hayes Garden Centre in Ambleside was calling strongly. The lure of all those Christmas decorations in huge colour co-ordinated displays was just too strong. When we had the shops this was the essential venue for shop window accessories. I still kept saying "Earrings would look great hung on that!"

On the way down flooding caused a detour via Keswick so we came back over the top via Kirkstone Pass. It gave me a chance to see how the colours were turning along Ullswater. The lake was very full. Our usual little gravel bays were under water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.