Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Glowing Barn

Tonight was special because I was able to sneak out for about an hour to take some night shots. My tripod is very new and so the whole night shooting experience is brand new to me. I feel some comfort with my normal day time shooting and was surprised at how different night shooting was. I need a ton of more work on this because I am still struggling to identify good shots.

I had a difficult time choosing a shot to blip tonight. My choice was between one of those long exposure glowing light shots and this barn. Honestly, as I type this, I am still debating. My rationale for choosing this barn is that I think that it is the quintessential New England building and I love the red glow of the front and the top with the weather vane. It also feels peaceful and calm as compared to the busy neon colors of the street shot.

The funny thing is that I actually noticed this barn from about .5 mile away and had to navigate back roads to get to it. (I saw it across a field.) It is a stunning structure which I never would have noticed in the day.

Photoshop

It was tough to expose this properly when shooting so I did the following:
1.) Expose shot in RAW editor for front of barn (as shot), and transferred to Photoshop
2.) Expose shot in RAW editor for rest of image (increased brightness), and transferred to Photoshop
3.) Combine two images above and use a mask to show front of barn from 1 and rest of image from 2.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.