A lawn on the roof

After a drizzly morning in Devon I set off for London mid-afternoon. I stopped off in the town of Honiton to photograph this pub for my Blip. Honiton was once, and probably still is renowned for lace-making. I would have liked to find a typical Devon village of thatched cottages, but didn't have time to stray off the main roads. I think the thatch on this building needs renewing - it's getting pretty green!

Not a nice journey back - dark, drizzly, misty and busy! Good to be out of the car. Tomorrow bro and I will be exploring some of the hills and villages of Surrey. Contrary to popular opinion, Surrey and much of the south-east of England is thickly wooded - there may be towns and roads beneath, but the general impression when looking from some of the hilltops is of tree cover to the horizon. The central part of Surrey, including part of the North Downs, is an AONB - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

But that will be tomorrow's Blip! I've just back-blipped for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.