Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

On Top of The Rhoddie

Although it started quite bright and frosty this morning, the sunrise was hidden behind thick clouds and came to nothing. When the sun did climb above the dark clouds there was a thin layer of cloud elsewhere which created a milkiness to the light.

If I was going to make the most of the light available it was going to have to be another bird blip. While I used to blip the birds through a clean kitchen window, I now prefer to be outside and try and catch them as they land on bushes and posts en route to the feeders. Even although I was wrapped up, it was really cold just standing still and trying to get the shot I was after. I blipped a Sparrow gripping the vertical bamboo canes the other day and I was keen to try and get a Blue Tit in the same pose. However, it wasn't to be and the only birds that landed on the bamboo were there for a second and then gone.

However, a Chaffinch did oblige and sit on top of a rhododendron bud long enough to be blipped. It would just have to do as I was now frozen and keen to get back indoors. So apologies for yet another Chaffinch blip.

It was only on review I noticed that the bud is partly open and displaying a wee bit of colour. Maybe another sign of global warming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.