If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Squirrel

We had another trip to Carlisle looking for presents for a Granddaughter who has everything.  Clothes were the obvious choice.  So we made a visit to (I think) every shop which sold clothes suitable for a 5 year old.

Waterstones café provided a welcome haven for a rest and refreshment.  I always find the café there is so much calmer and quieter than others.  Perhaps it is the feeling you are sitting in a library.

When we arrived home I was looking out of the window to check if a squirrel had been.  I place a nut on the table, the bird bath drinker and 3 on the bird table.  These are in addition to those in the feeder.  If there has been a squirrel usually the ones outside the feeder have gone.  Today those on the bird table and drinker had gone but not the table.  This suggested it was an individual not used to "the system".

I went out and checked the feeder and was barely back in the house before there was a squirrel on the feeder.  I usually content myself with shots through the window unlike Clickychick who goes and sits outside.  Today she encouraged me to try for outside shots.  So here is the one I liked best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.