NellieD

By NellieD

Art or pallets for the bin?!

So a very quick blip tonight as I don't want to miss a day, but have had water pouring out of the boiler for the last hour so have been otherwise distracted.

The husband very helpfully went to Spain this morning but fortunately my parents live only 2 streets away - every girl shouts out to her dad when she needs help. Stop cock now off and the towel seems dry - and I must have checked 25 times in the last 40 minutes. Will just have to see what British Gas say tomorrow and if they come early enough so I can still get to book club.

I was volunteering at the food bank today and as I walked past the Whitworth, I saw a big pile of pallets surrounded by metal fencing in front of the gallery. I kept walking but then something made me go back to have a proper look - because you never know, it could be art or it could just be a pile of rubbish waiting for the skip to arrive.

I knew there was more to it when I saw the line of washing!

The installation is by Matilda Glen and is called Crossing Borders. It is part of the Journeys Festival International and is intended to draw attention to the continued suffering of refuges across Europe. Glen volunteered with refugees in Calais, Dunkirk and Paris and shares how different this experience was from the news reports she was receiving in the UK. The work explores the hardships endured by displaced people and uses the power of visual art to challenge media reporting of the current global situation.

On one wall of the 'house', just above the blue pallet, there is an etching which reads "I imagined my family in front of my eyes, that picture depressed me a lot so I ripped it up and threw it away".

It was difficult to take a picture without getting the wire fencing in the frame, but I imagine that is all part of the image.

Will catch up on your journals when I have heat and water!!

Quote for today:
Help!!!!!!!!!
- NellieD

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.