Art and Style

I popped in to the V & A museum on my way to the Royal Geog Soc lecture. Both missions about photography. I wanted to see the new Photography gallery at the V&A 'cos it had good write ups when it opened last week. 

It is indeed very good. Kind of. It isn't particularly big and there was all that controversy a couple of years back about the collection of photos being pinched from the Bradford Photography centre and taken to London. I was in a rage about that at the time because it was squashing a brilliant opportunity to help regenerate a Yorkshire town as part of the Northern Powerhouse project and it had more space anyway. I found myself thinking that would have been the better option and this is an opportunity missed.

On the way out there are great people watching steps. All the stylish, arty types coming in and out. This chap was a proud Catalan and was puzzled at being asked for a photo but happy to pose. I liked his outfit. Would I dare to wear clumpy shoes without socks?

Then on to the the RGS. A good lecture about a pioneer travel photographer from the 19th Century. Lots of innovation and complicated processing techniques.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.