Flight of fancy

We first walked through Treshnish back in 2007, or even 2006 as part of a well used walk around the peninsula. That was on the occasion of was our first trip to Mull (at Easter time), and the first trip for me since the summer of 1993 or 1994 when I came here for a week. At first sight, it was already obvious that Treshnish was a lovely place to stay. But it's taken us more than ten years to make the leap from walkers to visitors, and of course it's been facilitated by getting to know the locals. I've been watching the weather and other daily changes here for several years now, and we did get a chance to meet up with Treshnish a little while ago when we stayed in a cottage on Calgary Bay. Now finally we've made it into one of the lovely cottages.

It's a brilliant place. So relaxing. I slept like a log last night. The cottages are really comfortable, and incredibly well insulated - although inevitably you can hear the wind! It wasn't a one-photo-day for me. Although the weather has been generally pretty poor, we went out for one wander at lunchtime and then I went for a solitary wander around 5pm. Wonderful to be able to step outside the door and start walking and after two days of fairly extensive driving I was happy not to get in the car. We had everything we needed here.

Apart from those two walks, I stuck my nose to the grindstone and did what I had promised myself I would do - push myself back into writing. I made very good progress, and finally sorted out the piece that has been bothering me for weeks now, where I could see I had interesting things to say, but couldn't work out why anyone else would want to read them. Much to do in the next two days if I wanted to return home with an approximately complete piece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.