Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A rainy day

It was raining when I woke up and it rained all day, just a soft dripping kind of rain that you barely needed an umbrella for. Murdoch and I walked in the rain and then I headed off to the hairdresser. It was still raining when I came out.

After lunch I went back to the village as I had a flu jab at Boots, and picked up a few more groceries. It finally stopped raining and I knew that the river would be calm like a mirror so I walked there to take this photo.

Since we got back from Durham Gavin has been away at a strategy meeting, and then tonight he has another work function on so I am not sure when he will pack as we leave tomorrow morning for Switzerland. He is used to travelling and so will undoubtedly throw a few things in a bag just as we are leaving and be done with it. We have annual meetings on Friday morning but it necessitates getting there a day before - and then we will stay the night and hopefully also manage to do some short hikes. Thomas is working at home and keeping Murdoch company - he is so independent now that he can drive it is no problem that he is not coming with us.

I had to smile when I got back from the village, there was choral music blasting out of Thomas' room. Not many 17 year olds would play choral music but he has a very diverse taste in music due to his music education, and he will happily switch from singing choral music to Russian pop, club music, cheese (Dolly Parton's 9-5 is a good example of cheese). We sure have a huge variety of music in our house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.