Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Up a tree

Chipmunks are ground squirrels, living in burrows where they stockpile their food.  But, like most other squirrels, they are excellent climbers and are often seen foraging in trees and shrubs.  They are omnivores, so they'll happily eat fruit, nuts, seeds, creepy-crawly things and (I hesitate to say) even bird eggs.  This one, however, was just noshing on some bird seed he'd taken from the feeder.  I guess he figured the top of the cherry tree was a nice, safe place to enjoy his treat.

This blip is for Linda, who's father loved chipmunks.  Honestly, who wouldn't love them?

It was blustery out today but at least we had a few hours of sun.  That gave me a chance to do some clean up, including "decanting" some of the potted annuals that are well past their time.  We are expecting the first frost tonight, so most likely I won't have much still blooming tomorrow.  In fact, I should probably have blipped something from the garden but I couldn't resist the chippie.  I did post one pollinator shot HERE on Flick, a colorful Ailanthus Webworm Moth, one of our more beautiful little flyers.

Got a message from my friend Barbara saying that #224 (Monarch) was traveling comfortably in the car, just passing Washington DC.  Favorable weather ahead for a release when he arrives in Raleigh.  Thank goodness for friends who are willing to travel with a butterfly!

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.