Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Year First

This plump Hermit Thrush (Catharus guttatus) my 44th Yardbird to be blipped this year.  I don't always catch of glimpse of these furtive thrushes in the yard, so it was a nice surprise when this one popped out of the fir tree to peer at me.  A short time later, he appeared on the deck railing, not 10 feet from where I was standing.  They don't sing this time of year, which is a shame as they have one the most beautiful songs, tied with the Wood Thrush in my opinion.  Don't believe me?  You can listen to different variations of its sweet song HERE - tell me that doesn't make you swoon!


Several years ago we had a Hermit thrush who stayed in our yard all winter, through ice and snow.  Not sure why it stayed, although it obviously found enough berries around our property to keep it sustained through the winter - and, of course, we have water available all year too, thanks to a heated bird bath.  


I am either having allergies or getting a cold - hopefully the former.  My throat feels like sandpaper and I'm snuffly.  Boo.


This morning, I trotted off to the County Courthouse as I'd received a summons for Jury Duty.  I sent a letter requesting to be excused as my single-sided deafness makes hearing in large rooms extremely difficult.  I got a vague letter in the mail on Friday, but wasn't sure if I was excused or not, so had to make an appearance.  Happy to report that I don't have to serve.  Mind you, I've served a number of times in the past, including on two criminal cases.  I've never shirked my civic duty; however, the hearing loss does pose a real issue and, if I were an attorney, I wouldn't want me on my jury.


Early blip since I doubt I'll do better than this adorable Hermit Thrush.  And if you'd like to see all the Yardbirds for this year, click HERE - hopefully they will all show up.  


Cheers.


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.