Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Talk to the ...Hand

Hm, it's not really a hand though, is it?  It's a leg - a middle-leg to be more exact.  But "talk to the middle-leg" doesn't have quite the same ring to it, does it?  Anyway, this is a very large Eastern Bumble Bee, possibly a queen, who has been trapped out in the garden for the last two days because it's been too chilly to fly.  I wanted to make sure she/it was still alive so extended a finger to softly stroke her back - which is when she raised one pollen-laden leg to warn me off.  

Alternatively, I suppose she could be doing yoga...

It has been horribly windy today which has resulted in some largish branches down in the garden and yard.  I've grabbed a couple to re-purpose as winter perches for the birds and will survey the area again tomorrow to see if any other branches have come down.  This on top of the extremely heavy rains last night.  Fall is here.  Right now I'm looking out the window to see leaves blowing up, down and sideways.  The maples are almost bare now and I am starting to be able to see back up to the ridge in the woods behind our house.  Sigh.

It was off to the gym for me today for some light cardio and heavy weights.  For some reason, I found all the weights hard today - they seemed heavier.  But I got them all done, yay me!

Very sad to learn that Representative Elijah Cummings passed away at the age of 68 - a great loss to his country and to his constituents, in my opinion.  Rest in peace, Sir.

Happy Thursday.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.