lovelife209

By mindful_life

Wide Wednesday autumnal

I have had another manically busy day so I apologise for my lack of comments on blips! I will make up for it in the days to come!

Work for the majority of the day, followed by a school getting my daughter to gym, my son to drums, a school meeting about a residential trip my daughter is going on next month and then week 3 of my mindfulness course!!! The first practice we did was quite long and I struggled with it because I was so exhausted and nearly fell asleep which is the opposite of what the mindfulness meditations are designed to do!!

Which brings me nicely on to today’s topic at the session which was difficulties we have with practice- they call them the D’s for difficulties which are drowsiness (definitely one for me today), distractions which might be our own thoughts or perhaps noises and life, desire - the true desire of wanted to do the practice over other things in our lives and lastly doubt - the doubt that we are doing it right or that we can’t do it because we aren’t good at it or doubt that mindfulness can even help us.

All of this may creep in from time to time but they emphasised the need for persistence and practice. Practice and our experience can change each time we do it and like with many things we get better with practice.

We also discussed thought diffusion - I think I will touch more on this tomorrow as I am exhausted and know that I need to be kind to myself and get some sleep tonight!

My photo is of a ceramic pumpkin we bought last year and sits ornamentally in our kitchen! We thought it was a little quirky and would look good in our space and given the theme of autumnal I thought it would fit given my lack of time in the outdoors today!

“Working hard for things you don’t care for is called stress. Working hard for things you do, is called passion.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.