lovelife209

By mindful_life

Abstract Thursday - Organic

So for Abstract Thursday's theme of Organic I had no idea what I would blip. During my lunch break the sun came out so I had a quick stroll at the park and took a photo of the tree I blipped last Wednesday as the leaves have started to fall and it looked very pretty so it is an extra for today.

I got home from work and started to catch up on some housework, which included emptying the bins when I spotted these seeds that have sprouted. Now the definition of organic is food produced without using chemicals or pesticides. These little plants have been grown I our greenhouse by my son. He was really keen to plant some fruit seeds when our greenhouse had become depleted after the summer and I was reluctant as I never thought they would grow! He had seeds from apples, dates, watermelon and pears but he was adamant so we did and now they have sprouted. I have no idea which is which and whether they are likely to survive or thrive but I take my hat off to my son for having the faith and perseverance to talk me round!

Also in the photo is a hanging branch from the strawberry plant above it and some rosemary still going strong on the left.

Yesterday in my blip I said I would talk about thought diffusion so here goes. We all have an inner critic, that little voice inside our head that speaks to us and can be very critical.  It is actually very important as it is there because of our instinctive threat system - the fight or flight instinct that keeps us safe but it can work on overdrive. 

Thought diffusion is a way of taking those unhelpful thoughts and doing something with them to take away the power they have on us. So, for example saying the critical phrase, like "you are so stupid" and saying it in your head in a silly voice over and over, or singing it to a theme tune like happy birthday over and over and then thanking the thought for coming and letting it go. An interesting technique but we tried it during the class and I can see how it can work!

This evening I was due to go to a work quiz but I have decided not to go. Mostly because I am very tired after a very very hectic week! I also have a long day at work tomorrow! Thursday evening is my night off from running around with the children so I decided to stay in and enjoy the time with them. (I haven't been on blip all evening either before anyone things that!!)

I will try and catch up of the blips I have missed this week once the children are in bed! 

An organic quote to finish off my blip! Happy Thursday!

"The first wealth is health." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.