Now THAT's a Burger!

One of the things I enjoy a lot is having lunch with friends. There is a small group of friends I've known since the mid-1980s because we worked together at Penn State. They are all retired from my workplace now, but I manage to meet them regularly for lunch. We spend the time catching up on each other's news. We laugh together. It's all good.

Our lunch adventure on this day took us to The Field, Burger and Tap, at Toftrees. It has some of the best burgers I know of anywhere. They used to have huge, glorious, super-sized onion rings, but alas, they took those off the menu, much to my chagrin.

So for something different, I ordered the "fries for the table" to accompany my burger, out of curiosity, as much as anything else. The fries are the signature salt hand cut russet potato fries. And so it was that our waitress showed up with a big sheet of waxed paper, which she placed on the middle of the table. And then she dumped a whole BUCKET of fries down onto it. Wow!

The burger is called The Field Burger. It has lettuce, red onion, tomato, and cheese of my choice (cheddar in this case), all on a brioche roll. And behind it is a glimpse of all of the fries my friends and I could eat. (I even took a large container of fries home for later.) NOM!

So here is my photo for the day of my huge burger and a whole lotta fries. The song, of course, has to be this one: Jimmy Buffett, with Cheeseburger in Paradise.

P.S. Thank you to all who stopped by yesterday to say hi on my blip-day. Your visits and comments and stars and hearts are much appreciated! I'll respond to all comments within the coming few days. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.