The 2500-Pumpkin Salute!

Greetings, friends old and new! This is a special posting, celebrating my 2500-blip anniversary. Whether you've visited my journal before or whether it's your very first time here, welcome, and thanks for stopping by!

Our local Arboretum puts on a fabulous pumpkin display in October, and I am always a frequent visitor. I try to pop in several times a week, even if only for 15 minutes at a time. I'm usually on my way to somewhere else, but making time for a little fun (and some pictures) is important to me.

There are lots and lots of pumpkins and gourds arranged throughout the Arboretum grounds right now. They are gearing up for the big Pumpkin Festival which will occur on this coming Friday and Saturday evenings. (Yes, they asked if I could come and help take pictures, but alas, I'm not available.)

On this morning, I thoroughly enjoyed strolling through the gardens and locating the various piles of pumpkins and gourds. The children's garden has some beautiful spots, a few of which you've already seen (for instance, here and here). The line-up of pumpkins shown above is available for viewing along the steps of the Overlook Pavilion.

I know there are not 2500 pumpkins in this shot (there are about two dozen by my count), but I'll bet if you walked around the Arboretum grounds and counted, you might actually discover MORE pumpkins than that. Woo-hoo, an embarrassment of riches, pumpkin-style!

And now a quick word about my blipping philosophy. Taking pictures is like breathing to me. I've been doing it since I was a girl at home. I can't imagine a day without it. It may sound corny to say this, but the quest for good photos helps give structure and purpose to my days. So you took a nice picture yesterday. Great! Now, what can you find TODAY?

Finding something beautiful to photograph each day is like a treasure trove to me. I love finding and celebrating beauty in the world around me. It reminds me how much there is to be grateful for, and it makes me happy. I hope my pictures make you smile too. Thanks for coming by!

And now for the soundtrack, a song about taking pictures: J. Geils Band, with Freeze Frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.