Early this morning...

...I started using the gelli plate for printing.

If you look at each line from left to right as you go down the little pictures...

Top line:
I put red paint dots on the brand new gelli plate.
Then I use a brayer and roll the red all over the gelli plate and take a print.
Then I add some yellow dots of paint on to the gelli paint, and I realise I should have used the yellow (the lighter colour) first.

Second line:
You can see I have rollered the yellow on to the gelli plate.
Ah, the pictures are not in the order I did them. I’ll let you figure it out!!!

I took a print and a ghost print.

I took a ghost print each time I did the original print. It was partly to clean the gelli plate.

I kept going over the same print, so by the last picture, I ended up with two separate prints. So one main print, and then the ghost print

You can see in the second row I used a bought stencil to do some dots.

In the third picture on the third row I was using some corrugated paper (which was to protect some Ritz Crackers), and a hair roller to leave impressions in the ink...

Fourth row:
First picture...and then I put the original print over it and smoothed it down with my hand and then lifted the paper.
Second picture...you can see I used the ghost print again to take off the rest of the ink off the gelli plate.
Third picture...I put dots of black ink all round the edge of the gelli plate, then I rollered the ink round the edge...

Fifth row:
First picture...oh dear, I have done it out of sequence again!!!

Basically I put some open pill packets (which were empty) and pressed them into the black ink, and I used the end of an empty tube as well. Then I put the original print on it and rubbed the back, and then lifted it. And this is the first picture on the fifth row.

The second picture of the sixth row is me using the ghost print to take another ghost print of the leftover paint on the gelli plate.

The last picture is the original print on the left and the ghost print on the right.


To clean the roller all the way through I rolled the paint between impressions on to scrap paper, and this also produced some interesting prints which were complete paintings in themselves. The best one, I think, is when I rollered the excess black off. You can see it best in the last photo. To me it looks like an industrial cityscape with chimneys.


I had promised I would show my art group how to do this, this afternoon.

So I took my stuff, and I am doing well until someone points out I am using watercolour tubes, not acrylics. Ooops. So someone lends me acrylics.

A few pictures later there is a general consensus of opinion that the prints done with watercolours were much better!!!

So I switched back over to watercolours.

I can’t show you what I did this afternoon because everyone took a few prints home with them!!!

They were completely totally different to these ones here in the Blip pic.

There was so much potential in the prints this afternoon. I think a couple of the others will be getting some gelli plates!

I will explain more tomorrow. There is enough words here for today.

Thank you for all your comments and love.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.