Not very exciting yet...

...more gelli printing.

On 5 inch by 7 inch gel plate today.

There are more but I was trying things out and making mistakes, eg trying to spray paper and it stuck to paint and gel plate....

I know I need more a selection of papers. I also want to try some photocopy paper which is thicker than the cheap photocopy paper. I am assuming there is some, but I will probably have to go to an office supplies shop.

I have only tried on thin card stock and cheap photocopy paper so far. I haven’t tried watercolour paper yet.

I have some old books of which I could use the paper in them...I can see that working, but I am loath to do that yet.

I need some different coloured card and paper, some dark and some black.

I have plenty of different acrylics to try and some metallic paints, and some powdered stuff called mica I think (or would mica damage the gel plate?)

I have been collecting household objects to use for textures and stencils etc. Rubber bands round toilet roll middles worked as a roller...loads more ideas.

I used watercolours in the pictures above, not acrylics. The one with the outline of a fish is not a stamp, but is one of those things you stick on the bottom of the bath to get a grip with your feet. You can also use the little suckers underneath it to make stamp circular like marks on the gel plate.

What I do need the space for is the corrugated card, the cardboard, bottle tops, circular carton tops, combs, packaging (some packaging has been so cleverly made that if carefully opened makes brilliant shaped stencil outlines), string, lace, rubber bands, wool....the list is endless and I haven’t even started collecting all I could yet.

The pictures that I like best in the photo are the two middle pictures. The orange one needs some tree silhouettes on it...I think. The one to the right of it is the brayering of the excess paint on the roller on to waste paper, and yet if I put a mount on it, it looks a finished abstract painting. I have no desire to do anything with the others, they don’t move me.

Cat, Popeye, is not too keen on me gel print painting. He wants to add his black fur to the paintings...so I had to spend the afternoon with him in the potting shed. I wanted to cut some stencils, make my own, but his paw kept reaching for my hands...so I gave up.

He has gone to bed in the kitchen for tonight, so I will get up early and see what I can do then with the gel plate printing...

I hope you all had/are having a good day.
Thank you for all your comments and love.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.